Poem from the Heart

We did something really helpful at this years Gathering.  So impactful that I feel I must share it again here.  It has been nearly nine years since my son died.  I have been on this particular grief journey for some time but this poem still touched the places in my heart that longs for my child.  Please take the time to share your version of this poem.  You never know how much what you share will help another mother.  If you did not attend the Gathering please consider doing this poem.  Just copy this poem.  There is one repeating line example – I am a mother who misses my son. 

I am a ________________who misses my_________________.

I wonder

I hear

I see

I want

I am a _______________who misses my ___________________.

I pretend

I feel

I touch

I cry

I am a ______________who misses my _____________.

I understand

I say

I dream

I try to

I hope

I am a ________________who misses my__________.

3 Responses

  1. by Renee Bangerter

    I am a mother who misses my baby.

    I wonder what he would look like.

    I hear the silence of his abscence.

    I see the love I had for him alone.

    I want to hold him again.

    I am a mother who misses my son.

    I pretend that it didn’t hurt to lose him.

    I feel like no one understood.

    I touch the clothes that he wore.

    I cry because the ache in my arms for him was so intense.

    I am a mother who misses my son.

    I understand that bad things happen.

    I say that it will get better.

    I dream of the day I will hold him again.

    I try to recall the short priceless moments we had.

    I hope that he knew how much I love him.

    I am a mother who misses my son.

  2. Love it!! Thank you so much for sharing, Renee!!

  3. Renee This is beautiful. You are such a strong woman. And your son was so beautiful. I love you !

Leave a comment